All Books Sale Books Course Books Events & News Stores Sale Books Sale Books Course Books Course Books Course Books Events & News Events & News Events & News Stores
All Books
on our tables
new releases
best sellers
Browse the Labyrinth...
African American Studies
African Studies
Anthropology & Archaeology
Asian Studies
Children's Books
Classical Studies
Cognitive Sciences
Cultural Studies
Current Events
Design & Fashion
Eastern European Studies
Eastern Religion & Philosophy
Environmental Studies
European History & Politics
Film & Media
Food & Cooking
Foreign Language
Gay & Lesbian Studies
General History & Historiography
Home, Garden & Crafts
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Labor Studies
Latin Am. & Caribbean Studies
Law & Legal Studies
Linguistics & Languages
Literary Theory & Criticism
Marxist Studies
Medical & Health Studies
Middle Eastern Studies
Music & Dance
Native American Studies
Natural History & Nature
No export
Political Philosophy
Political Science
S. Asian Studies & Oceania
Technology, Computers & Engineering
Trade Fiction
Trade Non-fiction
U.S. History & Politics
Urban Studies & Geography
Women's Studies
Title Details
Paul Bowles by Carr, Virginia
Paul Bowles: A Life
by Carr, Virginia
Contents A Few Words Before Chapter One: The Early Childhood of Paul Bowles (1910-1918) Chapter Two: Bowles's Move to a New Neighborhood and His Discovery of the Arts (1917-1927) Chapter Three: Paul Bowles, a Runaway to Paris (1928-1931) Chapter Four: Bowles's Return to Europe (1931-1933) Chapter Five: A Lovesick Bowles in Algeria. Disillusionment, Estrangement, and Success in New York (1933-1936) Chapter Six: Paul Bowles Meets Jane Auer. They Fall in Love and Marry (1937-1940) Chapter Seven: Paul and Jane in Acapulco, Where They Meet Tennessee Williams (1940-1943) Chapter Eight: Writing Music Reviews, Music for Broadway, Fiction, and Translations (1943-1947) Chapter Nine: Bowles's Departure for Morocco and Return to New York to Compose Music for A Streetcar Named Desire and Summer and Smoke (1947-1948) Chapter Ten: Bowles Returns to the Desert with Jane, and They Renew Their Dedication to Writing (1949-1951) Chapter Eleven: Mishaps, Chance, Intervention of Fate, and Jane's Elusive Third Act of In the Summer House (1952-1954) Chapter Twelve: Burroughs in Tangier and Bowles's Several Visits to His Island Off Ceylon (1954-1959) Chapter Thirteen: Bowles Records Indigenous Music, Translates, and Survives As Best He Can (1959-1966) Chapter Fourteen: Six Years of Abject Sadness (1967-1973) Chapter Fifteen: Without Jane (1973-1999) Chapter Sixteen: Coda Additional Acknowledgments Chronology Notes Index
Published November, 2004 by Simon & Schuster, Hardcover, 432 Pages, ISBN: 9780684196572, ISBN-10: 0684196573, List Price $35.00.

Out of Stock
Contact your local store to special order.

 Add to Wish List

Other books in Novels/Stories
Inventory Snapshot
---Available online only---
All Books Sale Books Course Books Events & News Stores All Books Sale Books Course Books All Books All Books Course Books Course Books help policies contact
All Books on our tables new releases
best sellers